My New Mantra

Every stumbling block a stepping stone.  Anything is possible so what is stopping me?  What is my inaction or laziness or lethargy costing me?  What am I exchanging in place of freedom and satisfaction and joy?
Every stumbling block a stepping stone.

Can you imagine the possibilities if we all put off our shame and knew that we were worthy of being loved even in all our faults!?!  Vulnerability is not weakness because it makes us who we are.
Vulnerability is something I have been struggling with for a little while as I have experienced a major paradigm shift on a social level over the last several years.  Most recently, I’ve had a falling out with someone who has been very dear to me for a VERY long time – like my whole life.  This has forced me to reevaluate my personal character on a fundamental level.  As a result, I turned to others for support.  Unfortunately, I found that exposing my vulnerability did little more than magnify the shame and fear I felt about my character.  As a result, I am having to mend the repercussions of my weakness rather than rely on those around me for support and strength.
Out of the ashes, however, I have learned that I AM capable of demonstrating a lot more courage than I originally thought myself able.  There was a time in my life when I was described for having an “electric personality.”  I know that person is still in me somewhere.
Ultimately, my capacity to love myself comes from a sense of worthiness of being loved.  But, I am so imperfect, and I am indeed very weak!  The source of my worthiness comes from my capacity to change (aka repent), have faith, and rely on the atonement of Jesus Christ!  “And if men come unto me I will show unto them their weakness. I give unto men weakness that they may be humble; and my grace is sufficient for all men that humble themselves before me; for if they humble themselves before me, and have faith in me, then will I make weak things become strong unto them” (Ether 12:27).  IN our weakness, we find strength.  Vulnerability is in fact the source of strength because we open ourselves up for growth.  We open ourselves up to rely on the mercy of the Lord that He might work upon us to develop His characteristics.

Leave a Reply

