Media Review: Date Night

Ok, so I know I am completely going out on a limb for even having watched this movie.  It was totally inappropriate on so many levels.  I didn’t even want to post the trailer because of the content and language.  However, overlooking those things, I thought this movie was hilarious!  I thought it was a comical and, in some scenes, an authentic portrayal of real family life.  Obviously, no average couple will ever find themselves tangled up in the kind of messes they get into.  But, if you think about the trials that families go through, and the crazy things we endure that make us stronger, it’s just funny to think about something this ridiculous happening!   I do wish they’d chosen some other scandal than the DA being a total perv.  He could have been money laundering, or gambling, or some other scandal that didn’t require them to add the awkward scene in the night club.  The only value I got out of that scene is when Mrs. Foster had to find something to wear that would hide her C-section scar. LOL

My other favorite part is when Mrs. Foster talks about how frustrating bedtime is “like it’s a surprise every night!”  That cracked me up because my daughter always refuses to cooperate at bedtime like it’s something new every time we have to go through the whole routine!

In the end, I just feel like the movie really played on my sympathies as a wife and mother who is imperfect.  I know I don’t have it right all the time, and I know that our family has its flaws, but I wouldn’t trade us for anything!  I choose our trials and our imperfections!  Even if something may look or seem better, I still choose my husband, my flaws and my children.  I might never have to endure a crazy wake-up call to realize how much I appreciate what I have, but I also live each day with gratitude in my heart for what I have.  Life is fleeting and in any moment anything could change.

I also feel like it addressed the sympathies of couples who question their marriage and where it’s going.  When they saw their friends getting a divorce who had appeared to be doing fine in every other way, they started to wonder if that was something they were at risk of.  I understand that.  I have seen couples who seemed to be doing just fine suddenly split up!  What was going on?  Is that something that just happens?  “Good morning, dear.  I think it’s that time when we are supposed to get divorced.”  Like it’s normal.  Well, I understand that divorce these days is more common than successful marriages, but come on!  I read this fantastic post the other day about this very thing.  Still, it’s kind of like seeing people your age have heart attacks, or discovering they have cancer or diabetes, or even dying!  You start to examine your life a little more closely – getting your cholesterol and blood sugar levels checked, examining your skin for funky-looking moles, eating better, exercising more, hoping you don’t lose your health and happiness to some unseen carcinogen in a tragic ruin!  In marriage, you might start to watch for things, like losing that “spark” of romance and excitement, verbal and emotional abuse, and hopefully you’ll start doing things that will work to strengthen your marriage.  Things like serving one another, offering words of kindness, and being extra patient (see “Lasting Marriage” video).  Being married, even in the temple, doesn’t mean you’re finished with trying or you don’t have to worry about getting into trouble anymore.  I recently heard about a Bishop I had when I was first married who would counsel with newlyweds who were considering a divorce.  Before going into the interview, he would say to himself and his councilors that “they haven’t been married long enough to know they want a divorce.”  In fact, getting married is just the beginning of a whole new ball game.  I learned a long time ago that marriage is not about codependency where one person dominates the relationship.  It’s about interdependence, like a three-legged stool where one each leg represents you, your spouse, and God.  One of those goes missing the stool will collapse.  In The Family: A Proclamation to the World, the roles of husband and wife are defined as equal partners in marriage.  I love that!

“Because, that’s the thing about love, really. No one will love you how you want to be loved, they’ll love you in the only ways they know how. Life throws everyone down drastically different paths so how can we expect everyone to love in the same way? The person you’ll spend your lifetime with will love you in their way and you’ll love in yours, and maybe you’ll meet in the middle and it’ll last. None of us know what we’re doing, you see, we’re just fumbling for matches in the dark. If you’re lucky, you might eventually just strike the right one” (None of us know what we are doing).

I’m sorry I seem to turn everything all sappy.  This movie was everything but.  Still, what I got out of it was the ability to laugh at myself and at the seemingly serious things that try to bog  me down.  The scene where she takes out her retainer and drools down her face, the kids pile-driving them in the morning, finding some silly way to spruce up a regular evening by making up stories about people, just crack me up still!  I might never watch it again, but it was great!

 

P.S. I know everyone is watching Harry Potter and that would have been a better movie to review, but I’ll write about it another time when I’m not so worried about spoilers. 😀

Leave a Reply

