Friday Fitness: Discouraged

I never liked to work out as a kid.  I knew that I needed to because I would always try my mom’s Kathy Smith videos.  But as soon as I started to sweat, or my brothers started to tease me, I would quit.  I also hated that my face would turn bright red when I exercised.  So embarrassing.  I started on the track team in 7th grade but quit because there was too much running (go figure).  I really didn’t have a grasp on the meaning of determination, discipline, or hard work.  I don’t think I thought I was fat, though…not really.

Finally, I have it – the determination, the discipline, the capacity for hard work.  I finally feel like I’m on the right track to health!

Yet, I haven’t reached my goal.  I’ve been on a “plateau” for a few months now.  I’m at the weight I was when I graduated high school, yet my BMI still says I’m “overweight” even after all I’ve done.  That humility I was talking about before is hard to keep up when I feel like I’ve worked so hard and deserve to make more progress than I have made.

Do you ever feel like that?  Do these feelings make you want to quit?  Is it just too hard sometimes?  I sometimes think so.

But then, I reflect on how far I’ve come!  I’ve come a long way!  If you had asked me a year ago if I thought I could run 6 mph and maintain it for several minutes, and even think it’s slow, I would have laughed at you.  If you had asked me six months ago to hold a plank for thirty seconds, I would have crumbled after ten.  Even with how difficult it is to maintain fitness, it is totally worth it.  Fitness has been the key to my motivation and success.  It feels amazing!

What is stopping you?

This is from the Weight-Control Information Network (WIN) website:

Tips to Help You Get Active

You know that physical activity is good for you. So what is stopping you from getting out there and getting at it? Maybe you think that working out is boring, joining a gym is costly, or doing one more thing during your busy day is impossible. Physical activity can be part of your daily life. This booklet can help you get moving by offering ideas to beat your roadblocks to getting active. In addition, you will read comments from people who have done it. Maybe their stories will inspire you.

2 thoughts on “Friday Fitness: Discouraged

  1. Cindy Thompson says:

    Wow Jodi! In my mind you look great. In our journey to weight gain (just the opposite, but just as hard) we have decided to not go by the numbers so much as go by how you look and feel. According to the charts and the medical stats Kit is way underweight. But, just like you, look how far he has come!! So we take it one calorie, one bite, one meal, on night feeding, one pound at a time. The important thing is that you are progressing in the right direction, AND just as important that you are enjoying the journey. Remember to enjoy where you are now! In my case I am having a little trouble starting my journey. But I will soon. I like to think that I am geting my mind set for the journey. I have told many people about your methods and success, and I hope to be joining the party soon!!

Leave a Reply

