Monday Media: Distorted Thinking

I recently saw an image that gave me pause.  A girl is holding a sign that says, “If a size ‘2’ is beautiful, Than my size ’22’ must be glorious.” (Never mind it should be “then” – there are bigger issues here than grammar).  I am so frustrated by the messages the media sends about being “perfect”.  What frustrates me about this image is how distorted the whole message is.  Neither size 2 nor size 22 are good from a health standpoint, and neither should be used as justification for being one size or the other.  Although BMI isn’t a perfect way to track health, it is a good gauge to help people see where they may stand.  I think what people forget is that it is possible to be underweight, as well as overweight (Click here to understand BMI).  The distortion of the image is that she has convinced herself that she has to compare herself to a size 2 and then justifies her overweight by it.  I understand we all can’t fit into a mold, and we can’t all be the same, but what I wish people would understand is that we should all be striving for optimal health, not optimal size – because there is no such thing.

In a talk by President Gordon B. Hinckley entitled “The Body is Sacred,” we learn:

The body is sacred. It was created in the image of God. It is something to be cared for and used for good purposes. It ought to be taken care of, and this thing which we call the Word of Wisdom, which is a code of health, is most helpful in doing that…
I give thanks to our Creator for revealing unto His Prophet what we call the Word of Wisdom. I do not hesitate to say that in this brief but inclusive statement of the Lord is found counsel, given with a promise, which, if more widely observed, would save untold pain and suffering and lead not only to increased physical well-being but also to great and satisfying “treasures of knowledge” of the things of God.

This is also an excellent article addressing the distorted thinking of the media, and our culture: “Ashley Judd Slaps Media in the Face for Speculation Over Her ‘Puffy’ Appearance” I recommend it.

Just remember, you are beautiful because you are a child of God.  All He asks of us is to care for our bodies as the gift they are, and to not judge others.

 

Sunday Spirituality: Wrestling in Prayer (Revised)

A thought occurred to me that maybe a lot of heartache and trial could be avoided when we take the time to commune with the Lord through prayer. Enos talks about wrestling with the Lord in prayer and received a remission of his sins. What does that really mean to me? Enos prayed MANY hours before he received his answers. Is it only a matter of time before we receive the answers we seek? Or is it a matter of the state of our mind, and heart? How often do I pray until my prayer becomes a conversation, and my mind and heart become enlightened by revelation? Usually this happens when I am anxious about something or am struggling for an answer. But what if my prayers were always full of anxiety that I might be always open to receive revelation? How much more would I be prepared to learn if I always had the capacity to receive it?

My favorite definition of prayer is in the Bible Dictionary:

As soon as we learn the true relationship in which we stand toward God (namely, God is our Father, and we are his children), then at once prayer becomes natural and instinctive on our part (Matt. 7:7–11). Many of the so-called difficulties about prayer arise from forgetting this relationship. Prayer is the act by which the will of the Father and the will of the child are brought into correspondence with each other. The object of prayer is not to change the will of God, but to secure for ourselves and for others blessings that God is already willing to grant, but that are made conditional on our asking for them. Blessings require some work or effort on our part before we can obtain them. Prayer is a form of work, and is an appointed means for obtaining the highest of all blessings.

Heavenly Father is just waiting for us to ask Him for what we need.  I believe that when we open our hearts in prayer, the Spirit gives us the words to pray and prepares our hearts to receive the answers.